DASH High School Cross Country Franklin Saber Meet Report

Hello DASH homeschool families,

Yesterday the high school team had a meet at Franklin High School – the Saber Invite.  With lots of really good high school teams, this was expected to be our hardest meet of the year.  This year we got to run it in the rain and the mud, just to make it a little harder.  The coach was laying in bed with a bad back, but something as small as that can’t stop the DASH team.  Kam Caspers, Ed Beck, and Drew Heiss were there to take over the coaching duties and the team didn’t miss a beat.

The girls ran in the JV race and all of them set season bests despite the cold, damp weather.  Emily Caspers came in first as she has done so many times before.  Martha Egan went out at a fast clip, but Britta did catch her before the finish.  These girls are getting better as the season goes along.

The boys JV race had Jay Egan running by himself.  The weather looked ominous at the start, with rain increasing as the race progressed.  Jay still ran very well, cutting off over two minutes from his time two weeks ago.  Jay’s new shoes are now broken in, and will probably no longer be called white the rest of the season.

The officials gathered to discuss the future of the meet.  Could it go on in this weather?  Because of lightning, the race was put off for half an hour.  It was decided OK to continue for the varsity races.

The rain had ceased by the boys varsity race, but slick conditions were on hand.  How would Matthew Hughes’ shoes hold up on this muddy course?  They held up good enough for an 18:15 finish!  This is the fastest a DASH athlete has ever gone!  Five more races, how low can he go?  Next week’s fast course may give us more of an answer.  Hudson Nyhart, Dietrich Heiss, and Tim Egan ran with each other for most of the race, but it was Tim this time who came in first.  He has been practicing hard and is getting real fast.  Dietrich was next with his usual good showing. Both Tim and Dietrich set season bests.  Hudson came in soon after, followed by Zachary Marek, and Nathan Dahlin.  I will have pictures up soon showing you how dirty these guys wound up.  It must have been fun.

As usual, the DASH fans were great, even in this weather.  Thanks to Kam Caspers, Ed Beck, and Drew Heiss for picking up coaching duties. Thanks to Zipporah Caspers for taking lots of photos. Thanks to my wife Kam who helped me write this report – she was there having fun in the rain while I was suffering in a warm, dry bed.

Take care,
Jim Caspers


  1. Maura Heiss

    Hey, what about the bees? Swarms of them took out some runners, but God protected our crew. Jerome Missiaen, Franklin coach, did a great job keeping things on schedule with many threatening delays. We love the Franklin coaches!!

  • Cross Country 2016

    The 2016 DASH girls cross country team: Zipporah Caspers, Kayla Bruton, Jessy Homa, Abby Chu, Rebecca Dickman, Katrina Lipski, Kayla Walters, Ella Johnson, Faith Caspers, Alivia Kempf.

  • The 2016 DASH boys cross country team. Front: Cliff Yang, Tim Kowalinski, Joe Maurer, Brian Durbin, Caleb Schaber, Justin Chu. Back: Ben Hughes, Joshua Schaber, John Klaves, Joshua Anumolu, Zachary Werner, Zach Pape, Miles Talbert, Seth Holter, Vincent Maurer, Samuel Zinkgraf.

  • The 2016 DASH MS girls cross country team. Grace Caspers, Stephanie Chu, Savanna Bruton, Hellena Hacker, Mary LeSac, Heidi Talbert, Julia Kowalinski, Joy Rasch, Julianna Caspers, Jenna Walters, Alexa Bruton.

  • The 2016 DASH MS boys cross country team. Front: Josiah Chu, Seka Kostrzewa, Nathanael Chu, Micah Chan, Silas Johnson, Noah Caspers, Charlie Johnson. Back: Alexander Taylor, Joshua Lipski, Joshua LeSac, Kaden Hacker, Bryant Farrell, Leif Kostrzewa, Daniel Caspers.

  • Track 2016

    DASH HS 4x1600 Relay Winners. Boys: Drake Hacker, Justin Chu, Briton Kostrzewa, Jacob Dickman. Girls: Zipporah Caspers, Faith Caspers, Kayla Walters, Andrea Beck.

  • Rebecca Dickman, Emma Taylor, Katie Gorectke, Stephanie Chu.

  • Cross Country 2015

    2015 Bradley Tech Cross Country Champions: The 1st place DASH boys: Lucas Ebel, John Klaves, John LaBonte, Joshua Schaber, John Sherman, Joshua Anumolu, Ben Hughes, Tim Kowalinski, Joe Maurer, Drake Hacker, Samuel Zinkgraf, Joe Hughes, Jacob Dickman, John Kowalinski, Will Farrell. the 2nd place DASH girls: Margaret Serchen, Kayla Walters, Zipporah Caspers, Andrea Beck, Faith Caspers, Renee Walters, Kayla Bruton, Jessy Homa.

  • The DASH girls middle school team. Front: Mary LeSac, Grace Caspers, Hellena Hacker, Julianna Caspers, Zaela Schlissel. Middle: Julia Kowalinski, Anabel Fisher, Savanna Bruton, Stephanie Chu, Angela Walters. Back: Naomi Zhou, Emma Taylor, Katie Gorectke, Makenna Fisher, Jenna Walters.

  • The DASH middle school boys team. Front: Vince Maurer, Jeffrey Breiling, Leif Kostrzewa, Caleb Schaber, Seka Kostrzewa, Alexander Taylor, Noah LaBonte. Middle: Ethan Lindberg, Micah Chan, Jose Rosario, Joshua LeSac, Adam Loustaunau, Salim Lubbad, Kaden Hacker, Nathanael Chu, Jacob LaBonte, Ben Breitbach. Back: Daniel Caspers, Joshua Lipski, Tikvah Schlissel, Bryant Farrell, Christian Loustaunau, Ed Sherman, Peter Chan, Matthew Kowalinski.

  • Track 2015

    2015 High School Track. Front: Andrea Coulter, Stefanie Klaves, Renee Walters, Jessy Homa, Bekka Homa, Nina Smrecek, Johannah Lee, Kayla Bruton, Zipporah Caspers, Andrea Beck. Back: Jacob Dickman, Jeremy Marek, Justin Chu, Nicholas Funk, Noah Evans, Samuel Lee, Danny Wickman. Missing: Tommy Ebert, Joe Hughes, Samuel Zinkgraf.

  • Cross Country 2014

    Bradley Tech Champions - 2014

  • Cross Country 2013

    Midwest Homeschool Champions - 2013

  • Track 2013

    Front : Abigail Larkin, Sophia Zyzo, Grace Caspers, Julianna Caspers, Grace Zinkgraf, Elijah Anumolu, Daniel Caspers, Leif Kostrzewa, Wesley Evans, Mary LeSac, Andre Coulter, Abby Chu, Grace Dupar, Gulla Kemmann. Back: Danny Wickman, Lucretia Nyhart, Mia Wickman, Faith Caspers, Toria Schein, Zipporah Caspers, Andrea Guidone, Olivia Zyzo, Toria Schein, Christian LeSac, Samuel Zinkgraf, Joshua LeSac, Joshua Anumolu, Kayla Walters, John Klaves, Christopher Fossell, Joe Hughes, Glenn Kaboskey. Missing: Stephanie Chu. Simran Khunger, Foster Todd, Briton Kostrzewa, Alex Navin.

  • Cross Country 2012

    Wisconsin Lutheran College Warrior Invite 7th-8th grade champions: Briton Kostrzewa, Christian LeSac, Samuel Zinkgraf, Joe Hughes.

  • Track 2012

    Amelie Kemmann, Andrea Kempf, Andrea Beck, Sarah Klapak

  • Cross Country 2011

  • Cross Country 2009

    Andrea Beck, Lucreitia Nyhart, Faith Caspers, Zipporah Caspers. Coach Jim Caspers and Ed Beck in back.

  • Cross Country 2004

    Legendary race - Maitland Park This is where it all began.