DASH High School Track 2015 Franklin Invite Meet Report

Hello DASH families,

Our high school track team had a cold, windy day to deal with in the Franklin Invite at Muskego high school yesterday. At the end of the meet, we also had to contend with running in the dark. Overall, the team showed us it is now in mid-season form. We posted some great results, but we ended up one result short when Jacob Dickman’s 3200 meter race was cancelled due to the darkness.

Our girls 4×800 team got the day started. Andrea Coulter got the team out to an early lead. Jessy Homa and Zipporah took the baton next and left us in 2nd place overall, well ahead of 3rd. Andrea Beck easily held our position running anchor. The team was off to a great start. Joe Hughes got the boys 4×800 team started fast with his best-ever 2:23 split. Justin Chu ran about the same split as Joe, and the boys team was now also running in 2nd place, well ahead of 3rd. Samuel Zinkgraf and Jacob Dickman had no problems holding their place, and we had our second 2nd place finish in a row. Renee Walters and Kayla Bruton both raced to top-7 finishes in the 100, with Kayla beating everyone’s time to finish 1st overall. Nicholas Funk finished his 100 in just 12.59 to place 4th. Andrea Coulter easily broke the 7 minute mark in the 1600, and finished 3rd overall. Joe Hughes went out fast in the boys 1600. Justin Chu finally chased him down in the last lap, but Joe finished a half-step ahead of Justin this time. Samuel Zinkgraf, Jacob Dickman, Jeremy Mark, and Nicholas Funk fell just short of the long-standing DASH 4×200 record with a 1:52 time. Tommy Ebert edged Noah Evans in a close 400 heat with both boys setting personal records. Nina Smrecek, Renee Walters, Jessy Homa, and Bekka Homa looked good in the 4×100 relay. Zipporah Caspers posted her best time of the year in the 800, closing with a great second lap. Samuel Zinkgraf came from behind to win his 800 heat. Noah Evans finished right behind, lowering his time from last Saturday by seven seconds. Kayla Bruton looked fast in her 200 heat, but it was getting dark and the timing system did not work for her heat. Nicholas Funk and Jeremy Marek were able to post fast times in their 200 races. The officials then decided to move the 3200 back and run the 4×400 relays next. Andrea Coulter, Renee Walters, Zipporah Caspers, and Andrea Beck posted a very good hand-timed 5:06, with all the girls getting under 1:20. It was so dark for the boys 4×400 team of Justin Chu, Tommy Ebert, Samuel Zinkgraf, and Joe Hughes that the camera could not even get clear pictures. It was then that we found out that the 3200 race was cancelled. Not getting to see Jacob Dickman one more time left us a little disappointed, but reflecting on the teams results, and seeing how the team is improving has me excited about next week’s races.

Thanks to Mary Beck, who was our volunteer who helped out with the triple jump. Thanks also to Ed Beck and Pete Dickman for helping out with the coaching. With the length of the meet, and the difficult weather conditions, taking photos was quite a challenge. We thank Faith Caspers for her efforts once again. We have two big high school meets on the schedule for next week, and a middle school meet today. This is the busy part of the season. Enjoy it while you can. We can exhale later.

Take care,
Jim Caspers


  • Cross Country 2016

    The 2016 DASH girls cross country team: Zipporah Caspers, Kayla Bruton, Jessy Homa, Abby Chu, Rebecca Dickman, Katrina Lipski, Kayla Walters, Ella Johnson, Faith Caspers, Alivia Kempf.

  • The 2016 DASH boys cross country team. Front: Cliff Yang, Tim Kowalinski, Joe Maurer, Brian Durbin, Caleb Schaber, Justin Chu. Back: Ben Hughes, Joshua Schaber, John Klaves, Joshua Anumolu, Zachary Werner, Zach Pape, Miles Talbert, Seth Holter, Vincent Maurer, Samuel Zinkgraf.

  • The 2016 DASH MS girls cross country team. Grace Caspers, Stephanie Chu, Savanna Bruton, Hellena Hacker, Mary LeSac, Heidi Talbert, Julia Kowalinski, Joy Rasch, Julianna Caspers, Jenna Walters, Alexa Bruton.

  • The 2016 DASH MS boys cross country team. Front: Josiah Chu, Seka Kostrzewa, Nathanael Chu, Micah Chan, Silas Johnson, Noah Caspers, Charlie Johnson. Back: Alexander Taylor, Joshua Lipski, Joshua LeSac, Kaden Hacker, Bryant Farrell, Leif Kostrzewa, Daniel Caspers.

  • Track 2016

    DASH HS 4x1600 Relay Winners. Boys: Drake Hacker, Justin Chu, Briton Kostrzewa, Jacob Dickman. Girls: Zipporah Caspers, Faith Caspers, Kayla Walters, Andrea Beck.

  • Rebecca Dickman, Emma Taylor, Katie Gorectke, Stephanie Chu.

  • Cross Country 2015

    2015 Bradley Tech Cross Country Champions: The 1st place DASH boys: Lucas Ebel, John Klaves, John LaBonte, Joshua Schaber, John Sherman, Joshua Anumolu, Ben Hughes, Tim Kowalinski, Joe Maurer, Drake Hacker, Samuel Zinkgraf, Joe Hughes, Jacob Dickman, John Kowalinski, Will Farrell. the 2nd place DASH girls: Margaret Serchen, Kayla Walters, Zipporah Caspers, Andrea Beck, Faith Caspers, Renee Walters, Kayla Bruton, Jessy Homa.

  • The DASH girls middle school team. Front: Mary LeSac, Grace Caspers, Hellena Hacker, Julianna Caspers, Zaela Schlissel. Middle: Julia Kowalinski, Anabel Fisher, Savanna Bruton, Stephanie Chu, Angela Walters. Back: Naomi Zhou, Emma Taylor, Katie Gorectke, Makenna Fisher, Jenna Walters.

  • The DASH middle school boys team. Front: Vince Maurer, Jeffrey Breiling, Leif Kostrzewa, Caleb Schaber, Seka Kostrzewa, Alexander Taylor, Noah LaBonte. Middle: Ethan Lindberg, Micah Chan, Jose Rosario, Joshua LeSac, Adam Loustaunau, Salim Lubbad, Kaden Hacker, Nathanael Chu, Jacob LaBonte, Ben Breitbach. Back: Daniel Caspers, Joshua Lipski, Tikvah Schlissel, Bryant Farrell, Christian Loustaunau, Ed Sherman, Peter Chan, Matthew Kowalinski.

  • Track 2015

    2015 High School Track. Front: Andrea Coulter, Stefanie Klaves, Renee Walters, Jessy Homa, Bekka Homa, Nina Smrecek, Johannah Lee, Kayla Bruton, Zipporah Caspers, Andrea Beck. Back: Jacob Dickman, Jeremy Marek, Justin Chu, Nicholas Funk, Noah Evans, Samuel Lee, Danny Wickman. Missing: Tommy Ebert, Joe Hughes, Samuel Zinkgraf.

  • Cross Country 2014

    Bradley Tech Champions - 2014

  • Cross Country 2013

    Midwest Homeschool Champions - 2013

  • Track 2013

    Front : Abigail Larkin, Sophia Zyzo, Grace Caspers, Julianna Caspers, Grace Zinkgraf, Elijah Anumolu, Daniel Caspers, Leif Kostrzewa, Wesley Evans, Mary LeSac, Andre Coulter, Abby Chu, Grace Dupar, Gulla Kemmann. Back: Danny Wickman, Lucretia Nyhart, Mia Wickman, Faith Caspers, Toria Schein, Zipporah Caspers, Andrea Guidone, Olivia Zyzo, Toria Schein, Christian LeSac, Samuel Zinkgraf, Joshua LeSac, Joshua Anumolu, Kayla Walters, John Klaves, Christopher Fossell, Joe Hughes, Glenn Kaboskey. Missing: Stephanie Chu. Simran Khunger, Foster Todd, Briton Kostrzewa, Alex Navin.

  • Cross Country 2012

    Wisconsin Lutheran College Warrior Invite 7th-8th grade champions: Briton Kostrzewa, Christian LeSac, Samuel Zinkgraf, Joe Hughes.

  • Track 2012

    Amelie Kemmann, Andrea Kempf, Andrea Beck, Sarah Klapak

  • Cross Country 2011

  • Cross Country 2009

    Andrea Beck, Lucreitia Nyhart, Faith Caspers, Zipporah Caspers. Coach Jim Caspers and Ed Beck in back.

  • Cross Country 2004

    Legendary race - Maitland Park This is where it all began.